Not just paddle strokes

Over the last month or two many people have asked me about motivation and how I decide to run rapids, plan trips or even have the courage of my convictions to have the visions for future exploits. Unsponsored online, just finalized an interview that you should read. It has some answers to questions you never thought you should ask. One of the important things to come out of the interview is – how can we stay calm but also stay driven, for me at least this is important as it fuels my daily life.

I think if we are to push our river boundaries and our comfort zones we need to look at how we control our feelings when we associate with a timeline of cause and effect and when or how we dissociate ourselves. Personally I fall in the latter section. How and why I have yet to understand fully. I know that when I am calm I see a timeline I don’t act within it. I see the past and possible futures, with me looking into them, not linear and part of them. I hear you ask how can you relax in times of stress is it that easy. For me – I have planned for the stress for an age, I train my emotions, just like I train my physical. I look to calm events of the past and frame them. I then train on the emotional junction that forms.

For over 5 year I have been engaged in a routine called the Five Tibetan Rites. As a big trip approaches I practice more, in quieter times I do less. It works well for me as an anchor to my day – just a twist on running or gym work. For those interest the book, whilst hard to get is worth every penny. It offer simple steps to calm the fearful mind with both meditation and physical yoga.

This is also known as Five Tibetan Rites a system  reported to be more than 2,500 years old, first publicized by Peter Kelder in a 1939 publication entitled The Eye of Revelation. On a recent TV show Jack Osborne used the method when practicing Thai Boxing on one of his Adrenaline Junkie shows, if your interested you should look at it. all I know for sure is that for me its a great system.

Love to hear your views on training the mind, perhaps expanding this post.

Daz

Leave a Reply

